"There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs." Ansel Adams

Narrows Bridge

narrows-bridge-sunrise-jpeg100.jpg

I took this photo last week at sunrise from under Narrows Bridge. It is a 4 image stitch. It was a windy morning and the river was pretty choppy. 40 second exposures smoothed out the water and created the bold reflections. The long exposure also allows a lot of light to reach the sensor and get the very bright city lights.

In the top right hand corner of the image, the edge of a very intense sunrise is visible. behind me, over South Perth was a intense pink sky, with bold clouds.

At first i wasnt sure about this one, but it has grown on me, let me know what you think!

10 responses

  1. matthew inman

    Great photo Dylan, I like this one. Did you shot the 4 photo’s in landscape or portrait format?

    March 5, 2008 at 8:18 pm

  2. dylanfox

    Thanks Matthew. I shot it in landscape format because i don’t have a panoramic tripod head. I have done lots of photos stitched from portrait images, but it is a little more difficult to stitch.
    cant wait to get a better tripod and head!

    March 5, 2008 at 8:53 pm

  3. matthew inman

    I thought that, having seen the cost of the Manfrotto and Precision 360 heads for that sort of thing my jaw dropped! I don’t want to tell you to suck eggs, if you already know this that is, but type Panosaurus into a search engine. I’ve got one, had it for 3 weeks, it’s a bit different, less sleek, more chunky, but it works! It takes a bit to set up but at just over $100 Au delivered I’m sold until that Lotto win comes through.

    March 5, 2008 at 9:11 pm

  4. dylanfox

    That does look good for its price!
    It costs just as much as the tripod i have! Sure it gets the job done, but a Manfrotto is the next thing on the list! along with a head for it.

    March 5, 2008 at 9:18 pm

  5. matthew inman

    Yeah, I recently upgraded, a 190 pro and I still add weight (camera bag) to the centre column for panoramic stitching projects, most cable releases for DLSRs cost more than a Panosaurus!

    March 5, 2008 at 9:38 pm

  6. dylanfox

    So how does it connect to the tripod?
    I’m trying to work out if it will work with mine.

    March 5, 2008 at 9:47 pm

  7. matthew inman

    It attaches straight to the quick release plate of my tripod, so it’s the same thread as the mounting point on the bottom of any camera I own. The same thread is used where tripod and camera is concerned.
    At present the camera is just bolted to the head of the Panosaurus.
    I’m adapting mine with another quick release (Manfrotto) on the Panosaurus, that way, I can attach my camera to either the tripod head or the Panasaurus and then to the tripod head quickly and without a screwdriver – thus enabling a ‘normal’ photograph to be taken and vice versa. If you email me I’ll send you some images of the set up as it is with out extra quick-release.

    March 5, 2008 at 10:19 pm

  8. RIc

    Hi Dylan

    I’ve been watching Cristian’s blog for a few months now and I have visited your site a number of times. I saw your comments on Christian’s blog about taking photos at Dunsborough and I was interested to take a look. I didn’t see your photos however I was taken back by just how good your latest work is… Your work has improved considerably and I take my hat off to you. All this and you are still just 17 years old… You have got a great future ahead of you mate. ABout a panaramic tripod head, I assume you are looking to get the Manfrotto 303Plus yeah? I’ve got this head and purchased it from B & H. I picked it up for about $480 AU. Not bad when you consider that the cheapest I found it in Aus was for $775…

    Cheers mate.

    Ric

    March 9, 2008 at 11:40 pm

  9. dylanfox

    Thanks Ric! that really means a lot to me!
    to hear that my site is somewhat out there… and that people do come back to see my work, really means a lot.

    Yeah I’m not sure which tripod head I’m going to get yet, but i have heard of that one. Hopefully I will have one soon!

    Thanks again Ric & check back soon, cause my dunsborough shots should be up today!

    Thanks

    March 10, 2008 at 10:45 am

  10. kirkhille

    Interesting details on the Panosaurus Matt
    ,cheap option compared to a Manfrotto option .

    March 11, 2008 at 6:45 pm

Leave a Reply

